bronze jayhawk statue against blue sky

Sixteen students named Chancellors Club Scholars for 2009–2010

The 2009–2010 Chancellors Club Scholars plan a wide range of career paths. Majors of the 16 University of Kansas freshmen include pre-medicine, film and literature, psychology, biology, pharmacy, engineering and Spanish.

All of the Chancellors Club Scholars are National Merit scholars who have outstanding high school achievement and leadership records. Ten graduated from Kansas high schools and six from out-of-state schools. Each has received a renewable scholarship from the Chancellors Club.

The Chancellors Club, a major-donor organization at KU Endowment, has awarded these scholarships to 308 students since the program began in 1979.

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management foundation for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first organization of its kind at a U.S. public university.

The new Chancellors Club scholars are listed below by their hometown and majors.

In-state scholars

  • Alexander Applegate, Wichita, international business; 

  • Connor Blankenship, McPherson, undecided; 

  • Michael Claman, Salina, film and literature; 

  • Jenny Lynn Curatola, Lansing, psychology; 

  • Glen Dunne, Leawood, biology; 

  • Kyra Hagen, Wichita, pharmacy; 

  • Natasha Kothari, Overland Park, pre-medicine; 

  • Zach Poskin, Overland Park, chemical engineering; 

  • Erin Reid, Roeland Park, undecided; 

  • Evaleena (Evy) Struttman, Topeka, pre-clinical laboratory science.

Out-of-state scholars

  • Molly Biegel, Anchorage, Alaska, psychology; 

  • Alexandra (Ali) Free, Blue Springs, Mo., undecided; 

  • Robert Healey, Kirkwood, Mo., architectural engineering; 

  • Dakota Henke, Garland, Texas, electrical engineering; 

  • Christopher (Chris) Novosel, Columbia, Mo., mechanical or aerospace engineering; 

  • Natalie Pak, Springfield, Mo., Spanish.

Michelle Keller

Assistant Vice President, Communications and Donor Relations 785-832-7336

Michelle Strickland

Media Relations 785-832-7363